Francesco Guccini

Born in Modena in 1940, he started making music and writing songs in the late 1950's. In 1967 his first album is released: "Folk Beat N. 1". In 1970 the albums "Due anni dopo" and "L'isola non trovata" are released, and then "Radici" (1972), "Opera buffa" (1973), "Stanze di vita quotidiana" (1974), "Via Paolo Fabbri 43" (1976), "Amerigo" (1978) and "Album concerto" (1979). "Il cammino verso Metropolis" (1981) is dedicated to cities with a long history and a strong simlolic meaning (Byzantium, Venice, Bologna, Milan). Between the 80' and the 90's he wrote his best songs: "Farewell", "Samantha", "Cyrano", "Vorrei", "Canzone per Silvia", "Nostra Signora dell'Ipocrisia". In the years 2000 he released the albums "Stagioni" (2000), "Ritratti" (2004), "Anfiteatro Live" (2005) and the acclaimed collection of his 40 year carrer "Platinum collection" (2006). In 2010 the best of "Storia di altre storie" is released. A versatile and multifaced person, he began writing literature in the late 1980s. He is also well known as the co-author (with Loriano Macchiavelli) of many detective stories, since "Macaroni" (1997) and "Un disco dei Platters" (1998) to "La pioggia fa sul serio" (2014). On May 26th 2004 Guccini was awarded the Ufficiale dell'Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana by the president Carlo Azeglio Ciampi.

(photo: © Festivaletteratura)

Festivaletteratura Festivaletteratura